Survival UK Forums

Full Version: Heavy clay soil at my allotment
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi there guys, I managed to get half an allotment off my local council which measures 12 meters by about 6 meters workable area.
unfortunately the heavy clay soil is holding on to the water and it looks like the Somme at the moment. I've put up a 12 meter long by 3 meter wide poly tunnel to help keep the rain, slugs, cats and birds off next years crops.
I researched how to improve clay soil on the internet and it suggested adding sawdust and horse manure in large quantities to improve the soil and help drainage possibly sand as well.
As well as that I was looking at getting a manual corkscrew post hole drill to drill many 3 foot deep holes all over the place to drain the water.
Does that sound like it'd work? it does to me but I'm a complete newbie in the art of drainage and soil improvement so any advice would be greatfully received.
Big Grin
First get loads of horse muck, and sharp sand not smooth building sand, sawdust is OK so long as in general its from hardwood cuttings not softwood or pine. Now either hire a rotivator and dig it all in, or go the alternative route of building raised beds.

if you go raised beds you dont have a frainage problemn if you choose to work the lkand find the lowest spot on the plot and dog a decent hole at least 4 ft deep 18 inches wide and fill it with pebbles, rubble, gravel etc to act as a soak away.
It has been a bad year for rain and on any worked ground I look at as soon as it rains now it looks bad. With your new ground, I would dig a hole probably 4ft deep and see what you have - depth of top soil, clay, sub soil so you have an idea of what you have to work with.