Survival UK Forums

Full Version: Just out of interest
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
Just wondered reading through posts there seems to be a fair few people on here that have significant others, how did people broach the subject of prepping, to explain to their other half how and why, and how did you get them to 'go along' with it ?
Jus cos I'm fairly new to the prepping scene and haven't really discussed it in any great detail with the wife, and I'm not sure how to
You'll probably find that even family members will think you're a little nuts or OTT. You should already have a fair idea where people stand from voiced comments to news items/historical events etc. I reckon most of the populace prefer not to think of anything that would involve SHTF scenarios, it takes them way out of their comfort zones.

Basically, I just keep quiet now and get on with it.
easy with my other half we watched a few doomsday preppers and discussed the events that each were prepping and then what we thought about some of the people on the show

I then mentioned things that I was/am considering doing and why I thought they were important in terms of us prepping

not mentioned it to other family members yet thou
Personally, my wife is awesome about the whole thing...thankfully.

Initially I just got a load of extra tins and the alike, because of the harsh winter we were predicted. After that I started my 'Camping Bag', or BOB, for if something happened and we had to leave town/home.

After a while, conversatio. About doomsday nutters came up. This was ideal as it allowed me to create a neutral dialog of what people think may happen and what I deem my "I wouldn't be surprised if....[event]...happened" list. After that she was pretty cool about it all.