Survival UK Forums

Full Version: Seven Oceans Emergency Biscuits
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Just wondering if anyone has any experience with these. The reviews are mixed, and am looking at getting something similar if not the same for my GHB.

Any input on these would be awesome.
I think there delicious but there's a story to this....once upon a time i was a truck driver for a ships chandlers in avonmouth , as these biscuits expire they have to be replaced (5years i think)so consequently there was a never ending supply on offer wherever i went....but i have to admit i like food thats been under heatlamps for hours in the canteen burn't and crusty round the edges ,won't let the chippy cook me fresh chips , i like the burnt ones that have been ready two hours , like tea from an urn thats been stewed to death and pre made with powdered milk , like red wine cold.......so take my recomendation as you will lol.
When I was in the US Navy either Mainstay or Seven Oceans biscuits were stored on board aircraft and in liferafts and small boats in survival kits. In my own emergency food stores for small boats, vehicles or private aircraft, I pack several M2A1 cal. .50 steel ammunition boxes. These contain lifeboat rations of whatever brand the ship chandlers sell, along with plastic jars of peanut butter, fruit jam or honey, and tins of Red Feather butter and Bega cheese, plus a box of 100 tea bags per can, water filter and desalination kit.

I prefer the flavor and texture of Seven Oceans to the Mainstay bars, which are more common in the US. But wish that your oatmeal bricks were available here.
Talking about biscuits, what about those ships "hard Tack" biscuits that were virtually indestructable, as well as inedible, does anyone still make them?
I had a box of these in the 'back of beyond' and got them out
last week as I needed a 'snack' and couldn't find anything in the 'fuddles' drawer.