Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
A good haemostatic supply
13 September 2013, 22:04,
RE: A good haemostatic supply
The haemostatic agents work in the same way whether you use powder or gauze.
They act by quickly stopping the blood flow by acting with the blood to create a jelly like substance,
clotting the blood without creating heat.

I've got no knowledge of it hurting but could very well be.

You wouldn't use this for minor cuts. Probably use regular butterfly strips and a bit if gauze,
But if we are talking about an arterial bleed then yes - use a haemostatic agent. Remember your ABC's.
(Airway Breathing circulation) and if we have a substantial flow of blood, make no mistake, this will kill.

Get the blood stopped immediately and then either ship the patient to A+E
or in a Post TU situation - try the following....

Give it about half an hour to settle down - maybe longer for the blood to totally stop.
Irrigate with large syringe and sterile or at least boiled water.
Clean with Iodine or TCP ( Yes it will hurt)
Pressure pad

That should do it --- but if infection sets in you may have death unless
you have some antibiotics ---- but at least you've tried.

-
14 September 2013, 14:58,
(13 September 2013, 21:44)Highlander Wrote:
(13 September 2013, 21:37)Lanky Yankee Wrote: We use celox dressings, but I would have misgivings using it in a SHTF situation.
1. It hurts like hell when applied so we need to sedate the patient prior to use.
2. It's great at stopping bleeding, but if you use it how are you going to treat the wound after? Usually our patients have to goto theater to have the wound treated (cleaned, bleeding stopped, closure). I'm not sure how long it can stay on a wound before it will become a major issue like infection.