Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Differential Diagnoses
27 November 2013, 19:10,
Differential Diagnoses
Differential Diagnoses

I’m an old orthopaedic technician/paramedic. I worked summer jobs in hospitals since my sophomore year in high school, then all through college. While I was in no way interested in becoming a medical doctor, I got my paramedics license in 1977 more as a side interest than anything else. In 1982 there was a shortage of EMTs in the US Coast Guard so I became a “weekend warrior” for what I thought was three years. I went on to other assignments, finally hanging up my boots in 1996.

Emergency medicine in the Coast Guard was practiced quite differently from what paramedics and EMTs did in the civilian world. USCG EMTs work alone – no partners. We also responded by boat so our response times were not 5 to 10 minutes like most civilian ambulance services, but rather 45 minutes to over an hour. Our transport times were equally long, unless we whistled up a helicopter from a Coast Guard Air Station and airlifted the patient off our deck.

“Differential diagnoses” refers to a mental list of all the possible things that could be wrong with the patient, and usually this list is running in the EMT’s mind long before he/she gets to the patient. As you examine your patient, you eliminate some items on your list, add others, and hopefully arrive at the correct answers and apply proper treatments as necessary.

For instance, I was walking up the CG Station steps early one Saturday morning, when two boys on bicycles came up to me and said “there’s a woman fallen down on the pier out by the pier-head light”. The pier was about one half mile long, and I know we could get there fastest by boat so I went into the station, told the OD to scramble the duty boat crew, grabbed a mustang suit and the med gear, and ran for the 41’ UTB. I jumped on and away we went, lights and siren, down the channel.