Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Devonian's First Attempt at making a Longbow – Picture Heavy
24 April 2014, 21:39,
Devonian's First Attempt at making a Longbow – Picture Heavy
OK so I decided to have a go at making a traditional English style longbow and this thread will record my first attempt at making one. I have never tried making a bow like this before, and neither have I been on any bow making courses etc. I have however looked at a few things online and watched a few YouTube videos on the subject.

So this could be a complete disaster – time will tell.

First of all the wood being used is Ash (as that is what I had access to!) I selected 3 lengths to bring home and use, though I was fortunate in that the wood used had already been cut down and had been sitting in the woods for about 2 years, so wasn’t green wood. It was then kept in my garage for another 6-8 weeks before I got around to making a start, so was fairly well seasoned. Note – I own the woods, so it wasn’t being stolen from someone else!

I tried to get the straightest and most knot free sections possible – easier said than done!!!

[Image: SAM_0552_zpsf71dc8d2.jpg]

Each length of Ash was approximately 2.4m (approx. 8 foot) long and about 100mm (4”) diameter, as shown in the photo’s below:

[Image: SAM_0551_zps18b9ecc8.jpg]

[Image: SAM_0554_zps029f7663.jpg]

I wanted to limit myself to the use of tools I already have, or which could easily be obtained after a SHTF event, so no draw knives! The real intention is that if I need to be able to make a good reliable bow in the future for hunting/survival purposes, then it’s something that I will be able to make and more importantly rely on. It’s easy to simply put some cord on a stick and call it a bow, but will it have enough power and accuracy to help you take say a rabbit or pigeon at a reasonable distance? Of course this is not something I would do at this time, as hunting with bows is illegal!