Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Solar Generator
12 May 2014, 19:46,
Solar Generator
Not sure where to put this question, but here goes. I've been quietly drooling over solar generators. My question is, would an EMP affect a solar generator in the same way as another electronic item?? As a solar generator is making electricity from the sun, does it still count as "electronic"?

Confused.
The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.
12 May 2014, 21:20,
RE: Solar Generator
Yes EMP will affect any electric circit , but I am no expert on this mary ......someone will be along in a bit....that knows more than me I am sure.
13 May 2014, 04:52,
According to NASA the most efficient method of protecting the delicate solar power units they use is to turn them off.

Their equipment is exposed to EMP and CME on a regular basis with none of the shielding effect of the atmosphere to protect it. Some of it has been operating for decades under those conditions.
17 December 2014, 22:04,
O.K., I'm still circling these things. They sound great, but I just do not understand solar - there seem to be so many bits and pieces to accommodate. Does anyone know a really good site to explain the dammed things to me in basic terms - Solar Generators for Dummies?
17 December 2014, 22:12,
Depending on how much power you are wanting to generate, you could do what I did and just buy a ready made, complete and portable setup:

http://forum.survivaluk.net/showthread.p...+panel+80w

I went for the 80w model, but they go down to 30w and up as high as 150w in a handy portable waterproof set up. They are also top quality BOSCH panels made in Germany, rather than low quality Chinese imports.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/aag/main?ie=U...JZ27RJ59I5

I've just added a couple of 12v leisure batteries and a 240v invertor.
17 December 2014, 22:19,
Thanks, Dev, but I really am low on understanding this stuff - what is an inverter?
17 December 2014, 22:25,