Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Most Important Hat
4 January 2017, 07:17,
Most Important Hat
I wear hats. There are a half dozen hats hanging on the coat tree by the door and I almost never exit the house without a head covering.

These days my general favorite is a hat made in Brazil from old truck tarps. It is called the "real deal Brazilian tarp hat" and I have been wearing it for several years. I even got a mesh weave summer model so I wear the same style year around.

I popped it on my head to go fetch the post this morning and the thought came to me that there have been other hats down through the years and although I like my hat it is not the most important hat I have ever worn.

That duty has gone to several helmets and bump hats that kept my brains from being scattered and although I hated them they were very effective and versatile.

Ever been in a situation like that?
4 January 2017, 09:02,
RE: Most Important Hat
and there was me thinking I was the only one with a hat fetish... Here I have hats for all seasons, none are fashion statements, all are functional and have specific uses. Which is the most important one? Impossible to say, but probably now that I'm somewhat follicly challenged, my most important ones are winter thermal coverings:

Cold weather hats:
Beanies of various types, lumberjack hats with furry ear flaps and a particular favourite if mine, a rather natty dark green, but now a little faded, Austrian waterproof felt alpine hat. I'm only permitted to wear the last one only around the property as my wife forbids me to be seen in it in public. The lumberjack hat tends to live over the headrest of my car's driving seat in winter months... a kind of Get-Home-Hat if you will.

Trekking hats