Survival UK Forums

Full Version: Why are you prepping?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
and what are you prepping for?

According to the National Risk Register of civil emergencies, the top 4 for 2015 are as follows:
1. Pandemic Influenza.
2. Coastal Flooding.
3. Widespread Electrical Failure....we could have told them that one.
4. Catastrophic Terrorist Attacks.....notice the plural.
(27 September 2015, 14:09)bigpaul Wrote: [ -> ]and what are you prepping for?

According to the National Risk Register of civil emergencies, the top 4 for 2015 are as follows:
1. Pandemic Influenza.
2. Coastal Flooding.
3. Widespread Electrical Failure....we could have told them that one.
4. Catastrophic Terrorist Attacks.....notice the plural.

1. Not much I can do about that, but I live in a sparsely populated area which might help.

2. Won't affect my home, could affect my work though - I'm a boat builder.

3. As 2, I have generators and fuel to run electronics and freezers, and solid fuel heating that doesn't need electricity. Would affect my work severely unless I took my generators to work.

4. Probably won't affect me, unless the terrorists want to scare the UK by blowing up sheep.

I note that the Risk Register ignores the elephant in the room - the fact that the economy could collapse.
The Utah Prepare Conference and Expo at Utah State University held some great classes among which was “The Realities, Response, and Recovery From EMP” taught by Jim Phillips, an Electronics Technician, Certified Nuclear Power Plant Operator, Standards Engineer, and Industrial Engineer. He has done extensive studying of the problems of an EMP attack.