Survival UK Forums

Full Version: hunting with a crossbow
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3 4 5
If I wanted, hypothetically, to take a deer with a crossbow. How long would I have to expect to wait for it to bleed out? I know it depends on where it's shot, and what point I'm using - but just a rough guess would be fine. I don't want to have to track the thing for miles, or cause it any unnecessary suffering. Nice clean kill.

Any ideas?

Thanks.

BeardyMan
I've no practical experience but from what I have seen on the DVDs and films using a broadhead in the critical area, where you would shoot it, they bleed out very quickly and only move a few yards before collapsing. Of course if you miss they can get quite far.
Trapping is much more effective.... too many people seem to want to rely on crossbows.
(1 October 2012, 09:13)BrixhamBadger Wrote: [ -> ]Trapping is much more effective.... too many people seem to want to rely on crossbows.

Hi BB, I understand that trapping is a much more effective way of procuring food. Thing is this is public woodland and I don't want to leave anything there that could injure anything that I'm not going to eat (dogs / children / badgers) as I can only get down there on the occasional weekday evening, then at weekends.

Were this a SHTF scenario then rest assured, traps would be set and anything caught would be eaten.

(1 October 2012, 09:17)BeardyMan Wrote: [ -> ]Were this a SHTF scenario then rest assured, traps would be set and anything caught would be eaten.

At that point even the kids would make a nice snack.
(1 October 2012, 09:47)Skean Dhude Wrote: [ -> ]
(1 October 2012, 09:17)BeardyMan Wrote: [ -> ]Were this a SHTF scenario then rest assured, traps would be set and anything caught would be eaten.

At that point even the kids would make a nice snack.

Oh yes. Snack or bait for bigger fish