Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
hunting with a crossbow
1 October 2012, 08:52,
hunting with a crossbow
If I wanted, hypothetically, to take a deer with a crossbow. How long would I have to expect to wait for it to bleed out? I know it depends on where it's shot, and what point I'm using - but just a rough guess would be fine. I don't want to have to track the thing for miles, or cause it any unnecessary suffering. Nice clean kill.

Any ideas?

Thanks.

BeardyMan
1 October 2012, 09:07,
RE: hunting with a crossbow
I've no practical experience but from what I have seen on the DVDs and films using a broadhead in the critical area, where you would shoot it, they bleed out very quickly and only move a few yards before collapsing. Of course if you miss they can get quite far.
Skean Dhude
-------------------------------
It is not the strongest of the species that survives, nor the most intelligent that survives. It is the one that is the most adaptable to change. - Charles Darwin
1 October 2012, 09:13,
Trapping is much more effective.... too many people seem to want to rely on crossbows.
Dodgy If you always have, on your person, at least 2 ways to make fire, you might be a prepper. Tongue
1 October 2012, 09:17,
(1 October 2012, 09:13)BrixhamBadger Wrote: Trapping is much more effective.... too many people seem to want to rely on crossbows.

Hi BB, I understand that trapping is a much more effective way of procuring food. Thing is this is public woodland and I don't want to leave anything there that could injure anything that I'm not going to eat (dogs / children / badgers) as I can only get down there on the occasional weekday evening, then at weekends.

Were this a SHTF scenario then rest assured, traps would be set and anything caught would be eaten.

1 October 2012, 09:47,
(1 October 2012, 09:17)BeardyMan Wrote: Were this a SHTF scenario then rest assured, traps would be set and anything caught would be eaten.