Thread Rating:
  • 2 Vote(s) - 5 Average
At last, a real preppers forum
28 February 2012, 06:11,
At last, a real preppers forum
Hi all,

I have been prepping for about 6 years now. Ever since I awoke one morning with an overwhelming sense of dread and foreboding, knowing that our world, our "civilisation" was going to implode in the very near future.

My prepping began with learning fighting systems, as used by special forces. None of the mamby pamby karate that so many like to learn, but skills that are deadly, instant and there are no if's or buts. I don't mean to insult any Karate guys, but I used to do it, was good, but still got beaten up by a kick boxer. Now, I win, every time. BTW, it called Krav Maga and it was developed by the Israeli special forces. It works.

More recently I have began stock piling food and edged weapons. I am lucky enough to have a very high income and can spend a lot of money on this. I am about to start buying meds, such as antibiotics, pain relief and suture kits. My wife is a nurse, so that is another bonus. I am acutely aware that injuries can lead to death through infection and not having proper treatment.

I am also stocking up on water filters and treatments.

My problem is this, I can stock this stuff, but where do I keep it. Sure, I can fill my garage for now, but I will become a huge target once the marauding gangs and looters leave the cities and find my village. With my weapons and skills, I can take 6-5 coming at me. No boasting here, we practice "Zombie drills" whereby 5-6 people attack for 5 minutes. The cardio workout kills, it is intense, but I and my son are good at combat and can fight that many off. With knives, we can stop many more.

So, back to the problem. I have so much and can buy much, much more. I can buy enough for 10-20 people for 2-3 years if I want to. That's an enormous amount of supplies, but 20 people with 6-7 big guys will more likely survive what is coming.