Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
New guy checking in
1 July 2012, 12:37,
New guy checking in
Hi folks, been reading the forum for a little while and decided it's time to get involved.

I'm pretty new to prepping, but I feel like it's something I've been heading towards for quite a few years. Ever since a schoolboy I've been convinced that civilization will see a rapid decline within my lifetime, but it's only recently hit me just how vulnerable me and my family would be should my fears become reality. Time to change that.

Main things I'm worried about are peak oil (and the inevitable wars as a result), potential Eurozone collapse which I think is more likely now that Germany have agreed to underwrite Eurozone debts (one country can't sustain a troubled continent), and just general economic collapse due to the unsustainability of western society in a world with a fast growing population and steadily declining resources.

Not to mention just how bad this country is at handling problems ie. strikes, riots, snow, temporary petrol shortages. All things considered I now see it's pretty stupid not to have AT LEAST a small stockpile of food for the next time there's a small problem and people wipe the supermarket shelves clean.

Anyway, thanks to everyone who posts such great stuff on here, I've learned a lot in a short time and compiled a huge todo list almost entirely from you folks, so I look forward to joining in the discussion.

PS. I used to be a personal trainer so if anybody has questions on the fitness/nutrition/general health side of things I should be able to help out. Would be rude to soak up all your info and not give back Wink
1 July 2012, 12:41,
RE: New guy checking in
Nice post, welcome to the forum.
Do not look for a sanctuary in anyone except your self    ཨོཾ་མ་ཎི་པདྨེ་ཧཱུྃ
1 July 2012, 13:03,
welcome to the site, i think you've just summed up all the things i'm keeping my eye on too.