Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
Learn to close it all up
3 April 2012, 19:04,
Learn to close it all up
Hi Everyone.

This might be a total noob post, but it's one that a lot of people probably overlook. I know that, because I am one of those people haha.

Today I have managed to increase my free space in my BOB by 50% simply by learning to close up my sleeping mat properly. So much for my blackbelt in origami.

The same is true with tents. Who here has ever had a tent that simply refuses to get back into the bag you got it out from?.....Yes, me too.

But it comes back to a few things. Bad planning, over estimating our own abilities, and lack of practice.

I was once told practice makes perfect. I was later told imperfect practice makes imperfect perfection (which I kind of liked).

So, the reason for this post is to get other people thinking, but also to get us all practicing.

How efficiently and quickly can you repack a poncho, sleeping bag, tent, inflaitable sleeping mat, waterproof jacket, map, space blanket, emergency tube tent/shelter or anything else like that?

If you're answers are similar to mine (very inefficiently, zip burstingly crammed in, and after a few attempts each taking longer than the last) then maybe it's time to get practicing like I will be over the next week.
Dissent is the highest form of Patriotism - Thomas Jefferson
Those who sacrifice freedom for security deserve neither - Benjamin Franklin
3 April 2012, 20:34,
RE: Learn to close it all up
My ex took the Army cadets very seriously lol, we used to pack our holiday bags military style.
3 April 2012, 22:28,
Customs would like that Big Grin
4 April 2012, 09:27,
I don't just mean, learning to pack your BOB's and that kind of thing. I mean, learn to pack sleeping bags and other things that have a small carry/holding case.
Dissent is the highest form of Patriotism - Thomas Jefferson
Those who sacrifice freedom for security deserve neither - Benjamin Franklin