Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Anyone have this tape?
3 September 2012, 17:40,
Anyone have this tape?
I haven't noticed anyone mention it on here before so I thought I'd suggest it as I used to use it when I worked as an aerial rigger/sattelite engineer its called self amalgamating tape basically its a non-adhesive rubber tape that forms a water tight bond to itself ie wrap it around a pipe that has a hole (the tape stretches so make sure you stretch it tightly around what your sealing) in it hold your hand around it for a few seconds (the heat from your hand will help it bond to itself quicker) then no more leak. It can also be used to wrap around joins in cables (such as aerial cables) to make a waterproof seal, I personally have never found any rust inside a connection sealed this way and neither had anyone I worked with and you can get a 10m roll from b&q for £2.48 (tower self amalgamating tape 10 metre - if you want to search for it on their website) hope this is of some use to someone
3 September 2012, 17:58,
RE: Anyone have this tape?
Bought two fresh rolls of Am tape off Amazon only last week, I use it all the time, sealing cables, improving the grips on bows etc.

3 September 2012, 18:04,
Bows... Now there's an idea! That would also stop them from breaking so easily as well as it would hold it together if it started to crack/split/whatever until you can grab your next one or repair it (the bow not the string obviously Big Grin )
3 September 2012, 19:33,
Standard part of my radio gear.

prep88,
Self amalgamating tape has little tensile strength.
It's more a sealing tape and lovely for making non slip grips.

3 September 2012, 19:47,
(3 September 2012, 18:04)Ukprepper88 Wrote: Bows... Now there's an idea! That would also stop them from breaking so easily as well as it would hold it together if it started to crack/split/whatever until you can grab your next one or repair it (the bow not the string obviously Big Grin )