Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Winters coming
28 September 2012, 17:12,
Winters coming
And yet again I'm beefing up the car cold weather kit and first aid kit for winter.

Cold injuries can hit us all in every sort of outside activity so I'd like to share this load of information with you:-

DISCLAIMER:
I am not a medical professional.
You must check with a qualified person that the information I have written is correct.
I shall not be held responsible as you should have checked before using any of the methods listed below.

This is a list of cold injuries and basic treatment from various sources round the Internet.

Cold or Chilled Skin
Your skin feels normal, but painful and red.
First Aid, get out of the cold and any wet clothing.
Carefully dry the area, elevate the limb covering it with loose warm clothing and warm it with natural body heat.
DON’T SCRATCH.

Frost Nip
Your skin has a little sensation, and feels waxy with the top layer hard or rubbery.
The deeper tissue is still soft, and it looks white.
First Aid, Immerse the affected area in warm water 37.5 Celsius (100 F) to thaw out the frozen tissue.
If you can’t use hot water, then use body heat.
DON’T RUB THE SKIN.
Never use heat pads or stoves / fireplaces.
Heating has to be slow and gentle and all over.
CAUTION:
The skin is VERY susceptible to refreezing for at least 24 hours.

Frostbite
Your skin feels numb, it feels numb and wooden and frozen to the bone. It also looks waxy and white.

THIS IS EXTREMELY HARD TO TREAT IN THE FIELD.
IF YOU CAN, GET TO A HOSPITAL.

Do not let the skin touch anything cold or hot.
Treatment of frostbite is re-warming / thawing the affected tissue.
Only rewarm if you can keep warm.
If you re-freeze a frost-bitten limb, the damage will be much worse.
NEVER RUB OR MASSAGE FROZEN SKIN.

Warming can be done in two ways:

Using body heat or a warm room temperature to aid the person’s body in re-warming itself.
Wrap the whole body up in blankets not just the frozen bit.