Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Radioactive Fallout
30 October 2012, 22:11,
Radioactive Fallout
The worsening geopolitical situation over the last few months has got me thinking again recently about the possibility of nuclear conflict. Also, hearing today that Hurricane Sandy could compromise up to 29 US nuclear installations concentrated my mind about fallout preparation and survival, since we are more or less Atlantic-facing and prevailing winds are west-to-east.

I have been giving some thoughts to an expedient fall-out shelter which I'll describe here. I'm by no means an expert, so would appreciate any views.

Our Situation:
I estimate our nearest targets are inverness City and Airport (35 miles distant) and RAF Lossiemouth (25 miles distant). In addition, Faslane is SW of us, but some 150 miles distant. Prevailing winds are SW to NE, so fallout from Faslane and Inverness could reach us.

Our home is an old stone cottage, with solid walls around 2 feet thick. One end of the house is partly below street level (between 2 and 3 feet). This end has a single bedroom with a single-glazed sash window to the outside and an interior door to the remainder of the ground floor. There is a fire place which is blocked up. This room would become the fall-out shelter.

Preparations - Modifications:
The intention would be to have ready:
- Pre-cut, drilled and white-painted thick plywood boards for securing to the exterior of the window frame.
- Gaffer tape stored in the room for air-sealing the windows
- quAntities of pillows to stuff the (18 inch wide) window return on the inside
- A home made Kearny Air Pump to be inserted into the interior door, with baffles on the inside to trap fallout particles

Preparations - Inner Refuge: