Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 2 Average
Any Crossbow experts here?
18 December 2012, 22:18,
Question  Any Crossbow experts here?
Hello everyone,

My first post on here and im going to get right on it

I have been trawling the net for Crossbow info and got to a point where i have no idea which way to go. I was going for an Amrex Jaguar 175lb rifle bow as its my first time getting a bow, then i thought 'na, might as well get the best thing i can afford'.

So im back again at square one and no idea what to get???

I have looked into recurve and compound bows. Both have their advantages mainly: Recurve is easy on the field and maintenance. Compound gives a greater punch. I was thinking if there is a not too expensive recurve which will give me good speed and power then i might as well go for that.

So what do you guys recommend?

Somewhere around the £200 - £300 mark including all the bolts and other bits and pieces.

Thanks guys
18 December 2012, 22:28,
RE: Any Crossbow experts here?
Welcome to the forum, afraid I carnt help you with crossbow advice
18 December 2012, 22:31,
Welcome to the forum

I have that same jaguar crossbow, I am still no expert with it, but I can at least comment on it.

It is easy to put together, and the parts seem to be of quality,.. the scope is alright but lacks cross hairs, having a red dot instead,.. zeroing the weapon is not that easy,..or I didnt find it easy as the instructions are not great,..a little trial and error does the trick here,.... it does come with open rear sights if you prefer.

All crossbow take longer to load than a conventional bow,... but loading the jaguar is easy, once the string is pulled back and it clicks back, the safety is automacticly on.

I dont have any other crossbow experience, but I am of the oppinion that on a whole I think it is a very good buy
A major part of survival is invisibility.
18 December 2012, 22:35,
Welcome. Straight into the questions. I like it.