Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
More power madness
9 March 2013, 12:21,
More power madness
I know there has been another thread about power shortages but I thought this elaborates further as to why it will be such an issue. I think this should be filed under "You couldn't make it up". The current scenario is insane as it is, our biggest coal fired power station importing coal whilst sitting next to a huge closed coal mine. The new scenario just beggars belief, cutting down trees in America to transport them across to burn here. I'm no scientist but how that can be construed as energy and fuel efficient is beyond my realm of understanding. I'm pretty sure trees can't grow as fast as you burn them, not to mention the lunacy of transporting it all.
If you weren't worried about future power cuts you sure as hell should be now.
Power to the people!
9 March 2013, 14:02,
RE: More power madness
Best we can do is stock up on candles, warm clothing & alternative cooking & heating methods. Camping gaz cooker & calor gas heaters are my plan. You can get the cookers with the disposable gas cartridges but they aren't very cost effective for long term use (which sadly I think we're gonna have to do).
9 March 2013, 14:09,
This whole "biomass" thing really bugs me,

i'm not getting into the whole "global warming" discussion here, but i seriously think we'd be better growing more trees (of all varieties)

growing more trees and letting them do thier stuff, lets keep burning coal, but leave the trees standing for now!
9 March 2013, 14:15,
What I can't understand is when the local councils plant trees, instead of using trees that "look pretty", why not plant fruit trees. Apples, pears, plums, cherries. All can grow in our climate (not sure about far north) & would give people free food for those who wanted it. At least we would get a decent return on our council tax Smile
9 March 2013, 14:51,
The council seem to be hacking and slashing everything in the local park