Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Survival fishing weights
8 May 2013, 21:41,
Survival fishing weights
Im new to fishing but the one peice of kit I loose the most of is weights, still practising my casting out and manage to get the line snagged quite often.been looking at making my own lead weights but discivered these all you need is sand and cloth so are ideal for survival situations http://www.perkons1.com/SANDSINKERS/Sandsinkers.html
8 May 2013, 21:45,
RE: Survival fishing weights
(8 May 2013, 21:41)Metroyeti Wrote: Im new to fishing but the one peice of kit I loose the most of is weights, still practising my casting out and manage to get the line snagged quite often.been looking at making my own lead weights but discivered these all you need is sand and cloth so are ideal for survival situations http://www.perkons1.com/SANDSINKERS/Sandsinkers.html

cheers for that
just read alas Babylon ,so im going to get more salt!!!!
8 May 2013, 21:50,
Another tip on keeping weights and/or replacing them easily,... on your line put two hooks, one at the end of the line, and the other as high as you require it to catch the fish you are after.

On the bottom hook, secure a small draw string bag, and add a stone, the bag has more chance of staying on than many weights.

I say this with very little knowledge of fishing, but its what I have done a couple of time when I have gone out with just line, hooks and that little bag
A major part of survival is invisibility.
8 May 2013, 21:54,
Next time im fishing on the beach im going to test this method
9 May 2013, 09:09,
I would tie the string bag on if I was that desperate, save the hook.

The thing is, you want a weight to be as dense as possible as it is not just holding the line but holding itself also - the larger it is, the more tide and current will take it.