Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Homemade Recurve / Flatbow - 1st attempt
4 December 2011, 21:21,
Homemade Recurve / Flatbow - 1st attempt
A Homemade American Flatbow / Recurve – Part one

I thought it was about time I learnt how to make a “proper” Bow. I have messed around making Bows out of 3 lengths of bamboo etc and various “survival” type Bows but although I have read plenty of articles about bow making I had never actually put any of it into practice on a proper Bow. Survival type bows are fine for in a crisis but wont generally last more than a few days so I wanted to try and make something that would last a bit longer.

After a bit of research I came to the conclusion that an American Flatbow (AFB) would be one of the easiest to try as a first attempt due to its uncomplicated profile. As this is my first attempt I haven’t worried to much about using a perfect piece of wood as I doubt very much that it will be that good a bow anyway. I hope to be able to make my mistakes, and learn from them on this Bow rather than on a perfect Stave.

It’s not strictly an AFB but that is the basis I have been working from.

It’s not finished yet but I thought I would post it as a Work in Progress, hopefully anyone else interested in doing the same can learn from my mistakes as I go along Smile

The first step was selecting the wood to use, as I had some spare wood laying around after building a frame to fit over my raised beds I thought I would use it up on this project.

Length wise I just cut it to about 4 ½ feet. No reason other than that was the maximum I could get while avoiding Knots etc

Tools used so far: Standard Wood Plane, No2 Wood Plane, Spokeshave, Flat and Round Files, Sandpaper