Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
Understanding Comms Episode 1.
16 September 2013, 09:36,
Understanding Comms Episode 1.
Welcome to the first of the mini series to help you get to grips with comms.

First up, let me tell you, I was the guy that looked at comms, didn't take time to get to know about it, and hated it. Comms was boring, made no sense, and I didn't see any point in them!

Let me tell you where I am now....not where I used to be, that's for sure. I'm no expert, and I don't pretend to be. I don't play a comms expert at all, and I am still learning about comms, daily. But I will try to address all questions I understand and can accurately answer.

But since this is a Beginner's course, I'll probably make it uninteresting for a lot of comms people. But for those who don't understand everything, after this mini-series, you'll have a damn good grounding on what's going on.

Right, let's begin.

A radio is best thought of as 5 bits of machinery all joined to a battery. That's about all there is to know about parts of a radio. We'll cover these parts in more depth later, but for now, we're beginners, so let's keep it simple (just like me).

Part 1. Ariel.
Not the little mermaid! This is the part that picks up and sends out signal.

Part 2. Transmitter
This is the part that changes your voice into a radio frequency and then sends out the signal of your voice to the ariel.
Think, Transmitter. It sends out messages.

Part 3. Microphone
This is a microphone. No joke, it's that simple. This pics up your voice and send that to the transmitter.

Part 4. Receiver
This is the part that receives the signal from the ariel and converts it back to a voice.
Think, receive, as in, it receives messages.

Part 5. Speaker
This turns the signal from the receiver into sound. Same as a car speaker. Headphones are a type of speaker.

So, to put the basic path of a radio signal into simple terms, it's like this: