Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Gun cabinets
31 January 2014, 23:37,
Gun cabinets
Who's the best and cheapest company to get a gun cabinet from.
Ideally I want one that will hold up to five rifles plus do I need a separate safe for shells?
1 February 2014, 01:14, (This post was last modified: 1 February 2014, 01:19 by Timelord.)
RE: Gun cabinets
As for shells/cartridges, you do not need a separate cabinet for these unless they are section 1 slugs. For normal shot shells, then they do not need to be in the cabinet at all. In fact the Police recommend that they are not stored in the cabinet with the gun as if by some chance the gun is illegally accessed, then the ammo will not be available to scoop & run or worst yet, to load at the scene. The shells can be kept anywhere on your property that is environmentally, climatically and secure within reason & out of visual sight.
As for cabinets, I am no expert but the lower price end seem to be similar. An online or ebay search will give you the info. 2nd hand is cheaper without any excessive travel cost. The cabinets are pretty robust and 2nd hand is usually not that much different in condition from new. There are 2 key and 1 key versions. The cabinet needs to have 5 lever locks as a minimum I believe. Some shotgun length cabinets will not house Hi-capacity pump action shotguns without them being partially dismantled. Not all can be - so beware. Some cabinets are taller and are better all round for longer guns. Some have a shelf inside which is useful but also detracts from the overall gun storage space, so again, beware of this in relation to your intended use. Old safes can make excellent secure cabinets but they can be awkward all round for handling and floor joist loadings... lol.. TL.

Some bargains can come up on Gumtree as well.