Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Slow Breakdown - How will you be hit?
30 July 2015, 20:14,
Slow Breakdown - How will you be hit?
This is a more precise look into the ways people see themselves being hit by a slow breakdown.

For myself, because I work in insurance and on a farm, I see one part of my livelihood being hit hard! The travel insurance side of it. If there's an economic collapse, people won't be going on holiday. Simple as that. However, the farm side I see as being ongoing and steady. People have got to eat. So I would be able to transition my hours and workload from one job to another. It might be more manual work, but I love that, and it would pay the bills.

So I see a financial collapse causing issues there. Also, the way a student loan could, potentially, be called in. That would really blow! I would be hit very hard by that, but then again, a rise in interest rates would also hit the mortgage. But thankfully our mortgage is pretty low, and if precious metals go the route I'm expecting, if there is a financial collapse, then I'll be able to smile and pay off the mortgage, as well as the student loans we have. So I do consider ourselves well hedged against that.

Gas prices can do whatever! We don't have gas.

Water prices….well, we have very little water usage, and have ample storage to be able to keep the house supplied at little extra effort. Maybe a few minutes on a converted water pump-static bike combination, to keep the hot water tank topped up.

Electricity prices increasing, now that would be a hit, but only a small one and it will not be as big an effect on us as for a lot of others. Having said that, I'm sure we could cope for a long time without our phones and laptops. We could run just the fridge and the cooker on electric, and we'd be happy. Even without the cooker we have a nice little store of solid fuels to cook on, so that's a major bonus for us.